Content Standards

Content standards for the State of California include Kindergarten through Grade Twelve (with the exception of Visual and Performing Arts which includes Prekindergarten through Grade Twelve). Although nine content standards exist for California public schools, only eight apply to Kindergarten through Grade Six. The eight applicable standards are listed below:

  • English Language Arts
  • English Language Development
  • Health Education
  • History-Social Science
  • Mathematics
  • Physical Education
  • Science
  • Visual and Performing Arts

English Language Arts

  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Written and Oral English Language Conventions
  • Listening and Speaking

English Language Development

  • Listening and Speaking
  • Reading
  • Writing

Health Education

  • Nutrition and Physical Activity (K, 2, 4, 5)
  • Growth, Development, and Sexual Health:
    • Growth, Development (K, 1, 3, 5)
    • Sexual Health (5)
  • Injury Prevention and Safety (K, 1, 4, 6)
  • Alcohol, Tobacco, and Other Drugs (K, 2, 4, 6)
  • Mental, Emotional, and Social Health (K, 2, 3, 6)
  • Personal and Community Health (K, 1, 3, 5, 6)

History-Social Science

  • Historical and Social Sciences Analysis Skills (K-6)
  • Learning and Working Now and Long Ago (K)
  • A Child’s Place in Time and Space (1)
  • People Who Make a Difference (2)
  • Continuity and Change (3)
  • A Changing State (4)
  • United States History and Geography: Making a New Nation (5)
  • World History and Geography: Ancient Civilizations (6)


  • Number Sense
  • Algebra and Functions
  • Measurement and Geometry
  • Statistics, Data Analysis, and Probability
  • Mathematical Reasoning

Physical Education

  • Standard 1: Students demonstrate the motor skills and movement
    patterns needed to perform a variety of physical activities.
  • Standard 2: Students demonstrate knowledge of movement concepts,
    principles, and strategies that apply to the learning and performance of
    physical activities.
  • Standard 3: Students assess and maintain a level of physical fitness to
    improve health and performance.
  • Standard 4: Students demonstrate knowledge of physical fitness concepts,
    principles, and strategies to improve health and performance.
  • Standard 5: Students demonstrate and utilize knowledge of psychological
    and sociological concepts, principles, and strategies that apply to the
    learning and performance of physical activity.


  • Physical Sciences
  • Life Sciences
  • Earth Sciences*
  • Investigation and Experimentation
    *Grade Six Science is Earth Sciences only.

Visual and Performing Arts

  • Dance
  • Music
  • Theatre
  • Visual Arts

Note: Content areas that are not grade-specific include overarching content areas or standards for Kindergarten through Grade Six (for specific grade-level standards, go to Content Standards at, and choose content area). Otherwise, grade-level emphasis is noted and content is grade-level appropriate.